Tags

, , ,

As I start looking for jobs and apartments to move into, I can’t help but get excited. I feel that my classes at Westminster have prepared me for mt first job and becoming an adult.

When I first came in, I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to do. I went back and fourth between majoring in Math, Business, Economics, Art or Psychology. So I first chose to double-major in Business Administration and Economics. Towards the end of my sophomore year I decided that neither were meant for me. I was lost. I didn’t know what I wanted to do. I made an appointment with the career center and spent two hours there working through exercises and discussions trying to figure out what I was best at. At the end of the two hours, we settled on Public Relations, and I couldn’t be happier.

At first, I wasn’t sure what PR really was. I signed up for PR 101 and all my questions were answered and it was everything that I wanted to do. Every single one of my PR classes has prepared me for the professional world. I never used to like speaking in front of a lot of people and I didn’t consider myself the best writer. After these classes I can say that I’m a confident speaker and writer, and there is always more room for improvement.

I think the most beneficial course out of them all is Capstone. We talk about the real world and how to be an adult. The PR classes are great with my professional work, but what do I do for my taxes? What should I say in an interview? How do I balance my work and my social life? All of these questions were finally answered. I feel prepared and eager to enter the next chapter in my life.

