Tags

, , , , ,

Last year at about this time, I was watching those I had gotten so close to for four years wrap up their last years at Westminster. Now it’s finally my turn. Five years later and about to be a Westminster graduate. It almost seems surreal when I think about it.

When I start to think about moving back home and finding a job, I find myself feeling more excited than scared. I’m nervous of course because who wouldn’t be, but I’m excited to get out there and see what my future holds. In capstone, we have been discussing what to do when transitioning from college to adult life. I almost feel as if I’m Will Ferrel or John C. Reilly in “Step Brothers” when they are forced to see therapists. They ask questions about being an adult and growing up that the normal human being would already know the answer to, but I almost feel like that. I have all of these “what ifs” that are still unanswered. Mostly about finances and such, because I have no clue what to do when it comes to that stuff.

I feel that capstone and my various classes at Westminster have definitely prepared me for the job world. But the adult world is completely different, and in my opinion, more frightening. We’ve been under our parents wings or in the support of our school by living in dorms and on meal plans. When that all goes away…then what?

Everything these last few weeks has slowly been coming to a close. A few days ago I presented my capstone research at URAC, today I competed in my last collegiate track meet and in my last Volleyrock. Some say when one door closes, another opens; and I believe that to be so true. I am 23-years-old and I have my life ahead of me. More chances to take vacations, meet new people, fall in love, have a family, create a career for myself and much, much more. College is a great time in a persons life, but when it’s over, it doesn’t mean your life is over. That chapter is finished, but you have the rest of your book to write.

