Tags

, , , , ,

 

One of the most talked about topics lately is marijuana. Is it good or bad? What does it do to me? Should it be legalized? Everyone has different perspectives and thoughts on weed, but our society has to realize that whether they like it or not, the push to legalize marijuana is becoming a revolution.

CNN’s Chief Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta, and also the top researcher behind the “Weed” documentaries, believes that it’s time for a “medical marijuana revolution.” More and more people are in favor of the legalization of marijuana. According to an article on CNN: “53% favor its legalization and 77% support it for medical purposes.”

An Initiative To Legalize Marijuana In California To Appear On Nov. BallotDr. Gupta also noted that it’s not just young people who want the legalization. It’s parents, grandparents, police officers, just everyday people. The cannabis plants contain hundreds of chemicals that can be used for so many purposes. It can be used to treat Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and help children who experience severe and frequent seizures due to various diseases. There are so many uses to marijuana other than just getting high and eating a lot of Taco Bell. Before we know it, the entire United States will legalize the drug. It has also never killed anyone. We can’t say that about any other drug (that I know of). In my opinion, marijuana is safer than alcohol and I am pretty confident that many people would agree with me.

nj-medical-marijuana-jpgI agree with Dr. Gupta. Look at how far we have come with medical research and I feel that the illegal nature of marijuana might hold back some research. I mean, why would you try to find a cure with something that is illegal? I’m not a chemist or a doctor obviously, so I’m not sure how it works when creating medications and treatments as far as legal and illegal substances go. But if this single plant has so many chemical components, why wouldn’t you try to use it for good things instead of frowning upon it?

Marijuana-States-of-America11-1024x640I am 100% for the legalization of marijuana. Not because I want to smoke it and get high everyday, but because I think it has more good qualities than bad. We can use it to our advantage in so many ways; economically and medically.

 

