Tags

, , , ,

la-na-nn-michael-slager-south-carolina-bio-201-001I was on Facebook the other day, just scrolling through my news feed and came upon a video of a police officer shooting an African American man running away from him. I wasn’t too interested because I feel that’s all we see on social media now: police brutality. And to be honest, I didn’t want to watch someone get shot. As I continued to scroll, I noticed the same story and video at least five more times, so I decided to finally give in and click on it.

Apparently, officer Michael Slager pulled over victim Walter Scott for a broken taillight and for some reason (not specified) Scott fled from the scene. Feidin Santana recorded the entire thing once Slager and Scott were on the ground in what looked like a park area or a yard. Santana recalled in an interview with MSNBC that the officer had complete control of Scott.

Police had stated that Slager had used a taser on Scott and Slager said later that Scott had grabbed the taser as well. If you watch the video, you never see Scott with possession of the taser. Slager shot at Scott eight times before he went down. The video that I watched highlighted a small object being dropped by Scott’s body (taser) and he moved it closer to the body.

Santana went back and fourth between coming forward with the video or deleting it. He said he felt that his life was in danger with this kind of information. If I just saw someone get shot and caught it on camera, I would have felt the same way. If this police officer could shoot this man after he had complete control over him, what would stop him from shooting me since I have the evidence? If you were Santana, would you have done the same thing? I’ve seen so many videos of witnesses capturing acts of police brutality. If you ask me, that’s pretty risky.

