Tags

 

For my senior capstone class at Westminster, each of us has to choose a topic for our final research project. One of my classmates is doing the Always “Like A Girl” campaign. It’s about time I chime in on this topic of what it means to be “like a girl.”

I have been playing sports since I could walk basically. They have been a major part of my life and I honestly can’t imagine my life without athletics. When someone uses the phrase “like a girl,” I automatically get mad. Not every boy or girl is athletic, but even boys can be titled as doing something “like a girl.” A great example would be two brothers fighting about something and one saying to the other that they “hit like a girl.”

I don’t think there is any way to really get around it. Of course, women professional athletes aren’t seen as weak or doing something “like a girl,” but even I have been told I have done something like a girl would. You know what? I am a girl and girls in my opinio0049285001339146465n can do tougher than some guys. Look at UFC Women’s Champion Ronda Rousey. If that’s hitting like a girl then sign me up! She could beat up any guy with one hand tied behind her back.

There are a few different Always commercials in the campaign, but the one above I think is the best one. I love the contrast between the older children and the younger ones. I think it’s fantastic that the younger children ran like themselves, threw like themselves and fought like themselves. I worry though, that after puberty and when society tells them that doing something “like a girl” is bad, their thoughts might change. What does that say about our society? How poorly we shape these young minds. They go from pure to corrupted in a blink of an eye. How can we change that? If we can even change that.

 

 

