Tags

, , ,

I recently read a memo posted on the 10th of this month by Google CFO Patrick Pichette discussing his retirement. I found it interesting because he didn’t simply say “oh I’m retiring because I don’t feel like working anymore” or something. He’s 52-years-old and decided that the best way to create a great work/life balance was to retire from Google and travel the world (if we could all be so lucky).

Before I read it, I thought I was going to be presented with the secret to creating a work/life balance, but instead the message that I received was: “quit my job and I’ll be happy.”

Pichette can make his own choices obviously, and I think it’s incredible that he has the opportunity to retire at this point in his life and spend time with his wife traveling the globe. At the same time, it makes me wonder what I will have to do to create that balance in my life. I can’t simply quit my job when I’m 30 because I want have a better social life. So what can we do when we reach a certain point in our careers to still make time to live our lives outside of the office?

At the end of Pichette’s memo he wrote “Carpe Diem.” In one of my all-time favorite movies, Dead Poets Society, Robin Williams lectures his class on seizing the day and living life to the fullest. He’s 100% right! We may have demanding jobs and forced to work more than ever imagined, but we need to remember that we were not placed on this earth to work our lives away. Yes, working is an important part of our lives, but another important part is to truly live. I want to find the secret to creating that ultimate balance so I can say I LIVED my life. I seized the day, everyday.

Dead Poets Society – Carpe Diem

