Tags

, , , ,

Untitled-1Schools have been closed all week due to freezing temperatures and even universities have been closing and issuing delays. However, good ole Mother Fair would never close for such preposterous reasons.

Westminster College’s student body has been receiving emails all week about how to dress in this cold weather and what to do. They also have the audacity to provide us with free hot chocolate since we still have classes. We take that as a “hey, we are still going to make you hike through this tundra for classes – but here’s some hot chocolate to make it all better.”

I understand that classes are extremely valuable and the institution cannot cancel classes left and right, but when these emails discuss how to avoid hypothermia and frostbite, I think we have a problem.

Erie School District closed the last two days and school districts that are actually warmer than here canceled because of freezing temperatures. I just don’t understand it. What do we have to do to get a day off? I wore four layers this morning, two pairs of gloves, a hat and two pairs of socks for a three minute walk to class. The hair that wasn’t under my hat actually froze and it wasn’t even wet!

I woke up this morning and looked at my Weather Channel app and it said -14 degrees. It took everything inside of me to get out of my nice warm bed and walk outside. All I have to say is TGIF and spring, please hurry. We all miss you.

