Tags

, ,

fifty-shades-grey-men

So recently the film “Fifty Shades of Grey” came out. I’ll be honest, I didn’t see the movie so this post may be a little biased. However, I have spoken to many people about the movie and the comparison to the book.

Everyone I have spoken to who has read the books and saw the movie said it went right along with the book and that it was fantastic. I have, however, heard that those who did see the movie and didn’t read the books were slightly offended. Maybe they didn’t understand the whole BDSM thing. For those of you who don’t know what BDSM is, (I won’t go into detail because it’s a little awkward) it stands for Bondage and Discipline (BD), Dominance and Submission (DS), Sadism and Masochism (SM).

If you haven’t seen the movie and are intending to…I recommend researching the movie and book so you know what you’re getting yourself into. Everyone who I have spoken to that has read the book had nothing but good things to say about it. I’m thinking about watching the film, then posting a follow-up post with my thoughts, so keep an eye out for that.

I plan to add the series to my list of “Books I should read before I turn 30.” It’s a pretty long list right now so it might be a while until I read it.

The video below is a Buzzfeed video of the “Try Guys” trying BDSM for the first time. So, I caution you that it does contain some weird material, but it is pretty funny and I recommend watching it. It does give some insight into the practices of BDSM and it includes a professional who does explain what it is and why people do it.

