Tags

, ,

I never thought I would be starting my senior Public Relations Capstone this quickly. Five years really flies by. I discovered that Westminster is one of the few (maybe the only) that requires students to complete senior capstones such as this. Although, I’m pretty sure the biology capstones are a bit more complicated than mine and I’ll take mine any day.

I’m glad that we do them because I know I will feel extremely accomplished once it is all over and completed. Something I can show off. It almost feels like a gold star I would get in Kindergarten for saying my ABCs correctly or finger-painting the cleanest. This will be one BIG gold star.

Going through my research and planning out my proposal is extremely nerve-racking. This is the last major project I will do in my undergraduate career and by far the most important one. This represents my whole education thus far and myself as a person.

There are a million thoughts running through my mind as I am preparing for this and as I start to write it:

  • Is my topic OK?
  • Do I sound smart?
  • What if people don’t like it?
  • What if I don’t like it?
  • Will it be long enough?
  • Will I make sense?
  • Do I have enough research material?
  • How’s my grammar?
  • Do I have too many commas?
  • Do I have enough commas?

Just an influx of thoughts come rushing in, but maybe the key to writing an AMAZING capstone is to just calm down and not think about it and let the ideas flow out. As I continue to write my proposal and enter into the unknown of writing my capstone, my goal is to stay calm and focused.

So, instead of acting like this until my capstone deadline:

kid_freak_out

I need to:

calm-down-ladyThen everything will be fine.

