Tags

, , , ,

ImageWhen I first visited the site www.text100.com/hypertext, I noticed that it is very clean, not very cluttered with pointless graphics. The posts are very clear and the visuals are interesting and eye-catching. I mainly looked at the post “Sponsored Hashtags & Promoted Tweets – Worth the Investment?” because I am really interested in sponsored hashtags and how they work.

At the very top of the page there is a giant, blue hashtag and you have to scroll down a bit to get to the title. After the title, there is anther giant hashtag and you have to scroll down even further to get to the information. It was a bit annoying. At first, I didn’t know if I was going to find any information.

Once I made it to the article I found it to be very informing and useful. Three lessons were covered that were learned from early adopters of early “hashtagers.”

  • Before you buy, anticipate sentiment: This discussed that when deciding to purchase a hashtag, you need to think through the role in your hashtag and what positive and NEGATIVE feedback it could receive down the road. Example was #NYTimesNews receiving negative hashtags after it announced its paywall.
  • ImageMake sure context & association is clear: This one is basically self explanatory. You need to make sure that your hashtag can clearly be identified with your company or organization. Example was Dell with #popclickswitch and they received some tweets that had no relevance to the company at all.
  • Pitfalls of buying promoted tweet for an existing hashtag: Too much information can be overwhelming to your audience and they might question the the content or authority of the writer. Example was Southwest having #SMAROI for an annual panel. This hashtag was linked to a social media “guru’s” blog which the crowd was seeing on their news feeds. The audience viewed it as clutter and spam.

In my opinion, I think that sponsored tweets are a great way to increase engagement with your target audience. I watch the channel TLC quite often, and I notice in the upper left-hand corner of the television screen, there is usually a hashtag with the show title (or something close to it) after it. I have participated and used that hashtag numerous times which caused me to look and see who else was using the same hashtag.

